Small course group build consortium in 2U

Another group of colleges have joined forces to offer online courses. Students enrolled at any of the 10 colleges campuses can take online courses from the shared system for credit at their primary or ‘home’ school.

Every member of the group has agreed to offer four-month-long online courses using software from 2U. 2U was founded in 2008 as 2tor by John Katzman and a group of developers.

Their approach is almost the opposite of a MOOC. These online courses, while offered to a wide geographic area, will be seminar-like online courses. The colleges are using 2U’s software to provide a platform for online courses capped at 20 students each.

Students already attending the institutions can earn credit from any college in the group, while students who are not enrolled at those colleges can apply to take the courses.

Universities in the consortium include:

  • Brandeis University
  • Duke University
  • Emory University
  • Northwestern University
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • University of Notre Dame
  • University of Rochester
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Wake Forest University
  • Washington University in St. Louis

More here.